Alumni Executive Council

The Alumni Executive Council (AEC) is essentially the management arm of the Washington & Jefferson College Alumni Association, to which all alumni belong. Working with the Office of Alumni Relations, our 22 members advocate for alumni interests and implement priorities for alumni communications, programming and services. 

View the Alumni Association Bylaws >

Through committees, the AEC works to accomplish two primary objectives: connecting alumni to one another and connecting alumni to students.

Julie Grebenz Rothbardt '93, President

The Programming Committee

The Programming Committee assists the College in establishing additional alumni-student programming opportunities. Of particular interest to the AEC is an alumni mentor program. The program, initiated by the AEC, matches alumni with current students for a mutually beneficial relationship.

Jacki Bauer '85
Joyce Golonka '85
Seth Litman '91
Emily Peters '03, Chair
Bill Sofis '76
Susan Storrick Timko '89
Mark Stout '86


The Communications Committee

The Communications Committee advises the Office of Alumni Relations on the various vehicles used to communicate with alumni, as well as provides a critical eye to the messages crafted for the alumni community.

Jeff Bender '06
John Burns '80
Maureen Connolly '04     
Donald Dazen '79
Kelly Kimberland '91
Kristin Ondecko Ligda '03, Chair

Larry Schwartz

The Governance Committee

The Governance Committee is responsible for selecting alumni association award recipients, selecting new Council members, and monitoring the alumni association by-laws. The Governance Committee is currently developing an AEC mission statement, which will serve as a foundation for future AEC initiatives.

Julie Grebenz Rothbardt '93
Mike Bittenbender '67
Terry Evans '70
Kathryn Falk '04
Rachel Lozosky Friedmann '01
Miles H. Simon '71, Chair
Linda Hunt Wagner '85

Your voice matters! In order to represent you, the AEC needs to hear from you. Provide your suggestions, your comments, and your thoughts. They are most welcome and are helpful as the AEC carries out their work. You can reach any AEC member at the email addresses provided above or email for your input to be shared with the committee.

AEC members, who serve four-year terms, are nominated by fellow alumni, college faculty, and staff, or through self-nominations. To nominate yourself or a fellow alumnus, please complete a short nomination form.

For more information on W&J's Alumni Executive Council, please contact us at 724-223-6079 or